SKC3 – Sydney Kendo Club Friendship Cup

It was an awesome day!

The last Saturday of February saw the inaugural SKC3 Friendship Cup finally arrive! Hosted by Sydney Kendo Club, “the threes” was a team event. How it ran was simple. Each team had three players. One of those players had to be a kyu grade. That kyu grade would be in position 1 in the team. The way most teams were structured (not all, as one or two I think had two kyu grades and one dan grade) was kyu, dan, dan. This meant that one match would be kyu vs kyu.

Medals for the winners and runners-up for the tournament

Medals for the winners and runners-up for the tournament

So, the day started with registration and shinai inspection. It was extraordinary as to how many people were there.

skc3-registration

Regsitration begins at SKC3 2009

As mentioned in an earlier post, there were over 100 people registered for this event. A variety of clubs were represented; they hailed from Sydney and Canberra in the main. Sydney Kendo Club, ANU Kendo Club, University of Sydney Kendo Club and UNSW Kendo Club are three examples of those who attended.

Once registration was complete and the opening ceremony was complete, the day moved to what proved to be a highlight. Balloon keiko. The following picture probably explains it all.

Balloon keiko

Balloon keiko

In short, each kendoka had to “pop” their opponent’s balloon.

Once balloon keiko had finished, the day progressed to the U-16s individuals and then onto the Open team events. As mentioned earlier, the teams were three in number, with at least one kyu grade player. This player had to fill the first position in the team. As a kyu grade, this was an excellent opportunity to expand my shiai experience.

The Michael Payne Fighting Spirit Award Shield

The Michael Payne Fighting Spirit Award Shield

I had a great team. Cross Sensei and his wife and me. Someone described it as a “dream team” – well, for me definitely. I hope I was not a third wheel for the others! Our first match was against a team from ANU. It was great. I drew. I was happy with that but annoyed that the number of men and kote cuts were not awarded. That came down to two things: my own zanshin and the fact that I was slightly slower than my opponent. The way it was described to me was that I needed to be slightly quicker in making contact with  my target before my opponent could start to deflect. Not to worry. I finished my first match of the day with a sense of “job well done”.

Our team went through to round two. Here we played a team from the University of Sydney. I was warned that my opponent was quick. My advice was not ill-conceived. Very quickly I learnt that my opponent, who was as big as I am, could move extremely fast. It was going to be a long three minutes. The bout wore on and eventually I provided an opening. My opponent took it and… whack! A men cut found its mark. During the course of this match, I tripped and fell onto my back. I am not sure how it happened. I think we were both going for a men cut and collided with each other – I ended up second best. I was fine but a little embarressed. As I got up, I felt my foot. It was sore. Something was up. I walked gingerly back to the starting lines and recommenced play. The bout finished shortly after that. I went down 1-0. I was going to enter the next match with an injured foot. (I have been told by a physiotherapist friend that it was a mid-foot sprain).

On the strength of my team mates performance (a draw and a tie-break win), the team went through to the next round. Round 3 saw us up against a team from ANU. Now, these guys went through to the final round which explained the strength of their performance. I lost 2-0. This did not bode well. Certainly the following two matches indicated that we were not destined for anything further than Round 3. Both Crosses went down in their respective rounds. All the matches were excellent, I thought. I wonder if I had not sprained my foot whether I would have done better. Not to worry. Our team went out in the third round and it was a good feeling to get that far.

On top of that, I had a number of different compliments. I was really pleased with that. People told me that my kendo was good, that I moved well on the court and that I had great seme and kiai. The common (constructive) criticism was the issue with zanshin. Absolutely! I couldn’t agree more. It will be something I look at this year.

Going jodan

Going jodan

Who will score the point?

Who will score the point?

~ by timothyscott on 3 March, 2009.

6 Responses to “SKC3 – Sydney Kendo Club Friendship Cup”

  1. Greetings Tim.

    I was actually participating in the SKC Friendship cup as well. Just was passing by (procrastinating on uni work) and wanted to congratulate you on you and your club’s performance.

    Ironically, I was in the USYD team that you were facing. I was the 2nd player up against Cross Sensei’s wife which was an honour playing against.

    I hope to see you at the 14th DHMDK Kumdo Tournament!

    Kent

    • What a small world it is. That was a great match. Unfortunately, as I mentioned in my post, I ended up injurying myself which meant that I was “saving” my left foot when we entered the third round. That aside, it was great to play you and your team. Thankyou!

      Hopefully we will see each other (perhaps even opposite each other on the court!) at the DHMDK tournament at Burwood.

      Thanks for reading the blog.

      Cheers, Tim

  2. THis is such a good read! Love the pic about balloon men! =D

    btw, i hope you dont mind, im a kendoka in Malaysia and i have linked you up at http://gyakudo.blogspot.com

    =D

  3. […] last major foray into kendo was the Sydney Kendo Club’s SKC3s competition. During that competition, I managed to give myself quite an injury. I incurred a mid-foot sprain on […]

  4. […] SKC3 – Sydney Kendo Club Friendship Cup March 20094 comments 5 […]

  5. […] with Kendo for the past year or so. It tracks back to when my routine for training was disrupted by a mid-foot sprain following the first SKC3 Tournament. In one sense this raises the interesting point about how important it is to keep to routine and to […]

Leave a Reply

 
